St. Wulstan's Roman Catholic Primary School

Believe to Achieve: Love God, Love Learning, Love One Another

Welcome to St. Wulstan's R.C. Primary School.


St. Wulstan’s R.C. Primary School Governing Body

The efficient and effective running of the school is the responsibility of the St. Wulstan's Governing Body. The Governing Body are the strategic leaders of the school and ensure clarity and vision, ethos and strategic direction. They hold the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, monitor the performance management of staff and oversee the financial performance of the school. All Governors hold office for four years after which they may seek re-election or re-appointment.


The Governing Body is composed of:

a) Foundation Governors appointed by the Trustees of Salford Diocese
b) Individuals nominated by Lancashire County Council
c) Parents of children attending the school, appointed by parents
d) Representatives of both teaching and non-teaching staff at the school
e) The Headteacher who is an ex officio member.


Each member of the Governing body is also a member of either the Resources Committee or Quality of Education Committee. The Resources committee is responsible for Finance, Premises and Personnel issues. The Quality of Education Committee is responsible for the Curriculum, SEN, Safeguarding, Data and Performance.  Associate Governors do not have voting rights.


As a school we recognise that a diversity of thought, voices and perspectives is essential to good governance and the effective running of any organisation. We regularly collect diversity information from our governors and, depending on current data, can use this to:

  • target recruitment to address gaps in experience and diversity
  • develop and adapt board practices to ensure full participation
  • prioritise training and awareness-raising in identified areas
  • address potential ‘blind spots’ through seeking wider advice and perspectives on current and upcoming opportunities, challenges and risks
However, we are unable to publish this information as it would mean that individual members of our governing body are identifiable. 


Chair of Governors – Mrs. Rebecca Ramsay

Vice Chair of Governors – Mrs. Sarah Doughty

Chair of Resources Committee – Mrs. Pamela Ratcliffe

Chair of Quality of Education Committee – Mrs. Sarah Doughty

Safeguarding  - Mrs. Rebecca Ramsay


Click here for the Governors' 3 Year Rolling Strategic Plan

Click here for our Governing Body 2023- 2024

Click here for our Governing Body 2022 - 2023

Click here for Governors Code of Conduct

Click here for Governance of a Catholic School

Click here for the school's financial benchmarking information